The five pillars

Posted By islampillars On Tuesday, January 10th, 2012 With 0 Comments

The Five Pillars of Islam

Are five basic acts in Islam. These are summarized in the famous Hadith of Gabriel.

The Qur’an presents them as a framework for worship and a sign of commitment to the faith. They are the shahada (creed),  daily prayers (salat),  fasting during Ramadan (sawm),  almsgiving (zakāt), and the pilgrimage to Mecca (hajj) at least once in a lifetime.

The Majority Muslims agree on the essential details for the performance of these acts, but the Shi’a do not refer to them by the same name

Switch to our mobile site